Sounds of Silence

I slept for a grand total of 3.5 hours last night. Baby boy decided that Sunday night was the perfect time to start running a fever and had a rough go of it. Now that I’ve eaten breakfast and drank coffee and have roused all my alertness, he’s taken to a quiet and extended nap.

Good play, little man.

While I do not like to miss work this often, because catching up is hard and I only have a certain amount of paid time off, I love every day I get to spend with him. I wish his immune system would hurry up and fly right so I could just take random fun-days off but, for now, I’ll take what I can get. Today that’s a baby who wants to be held every moment he is awake and I am so thankful for these extra snuggles.

I’ve accomplished a few things this morning but now I get a few moments to myself. I don’t feel bad about this, even though there’s work to be done. Why? My husband is amazing. He’ll come home from work today and want to hear about every moment. He won’t mention the international calls and meetings, the heavy deadlines – until I finish talking about my day. He won’t talk about working out on his lunch break when I ask him to walk Connor because I’m tired. But he will frown if he thinks I’ve “tried to do too many things” because he wants me to enjoy Connor and the little bit of free time I get on days like this.

I am so thankful that Connor has an amazing role model in his daddy.

I am so thankful for moments of silence that allow me to really appreciate everything I am blessed with in this world.

I am so thankful for puppy cuddles, my bible, leftover pizza, dinner cooking in the crock-pot, and recorded episodes of Smash… it’s going to be a great day.

Leave a Reply

